More Paleo

I think the urge to challenge myself to make all those DIY Pinterest projects during my pregnancy have now changed to challenging myself to stick to this paleo diet and to not feel like I’m on a diet. I hate diets. I’ve done them multiple times before, but I’ve hated every minute and couldn’t wait til I was finished with it.
Once I had Cristopher I had to decide on a diet to lose the baby weight. I’m one of those people who if they say they’ll eat healthier without making actual rules, I’ll only end up doing it for a couple weeks tops.
I need to have rules. I need the structure in order to stick to it. So i wanted to cut out the obvious bread/pasta/wheat in general, refined sugar, and most dairy (I love Greek yogurt). But instead of just saying I won’t eat those specific things, I decided to start the Paleo diet to give myself structure.
And let me say, I’ve been having so much fun finding ways to make it feel like I’m not on a diet. At first it was pretty hard not eating grains and dairy since the majority of what I ate during pregnancy was cheese, yogurt, and sandwiches. But before getting pregnant I rarely ate bread or pasta so once I got past the first week-ish, I don’t really crave bread anymore. Still eat cheese on some things, but not often.
So I’ve been making sweet paleo treats. My last post I mentioned that I made pumpkin chocolate coconut muffins which taste like cake. Last night I made a coconut creme pie!
Almond flour, honey, & coconut oil crust, chocolate layer, coconut milk custard, topped with coconut milk whipped cream.

20140211-183525.jpg

20140211-183538.jpg

Recipe here: coconut creme pie

My husband even liked it and that’s saying something. It took a lot of separate steps to make so I may not make the whole pie again for awhile, but I definitely want to make the coconut pudding/custard filling on its own. I could eat a whole bowl of it!

Leave a comment